Create SubCategory in familiy editor

Hello,
I’m new to Dynamo and i can see i will need to get better with Python nodes to achieve my goals, but i’m not even close to being a programmer…

I want to create a new subcategory of object styles using a python node to speed up the process of creating certain electric families. I saw this post,

https://forum.dynamobim.com/t/add-a-subcategory-in-detail-item-family/25992

but the creation of subcategories needs to be multiple, if i enter a single string it get decomposed as one style per letter of the string.

This is my grapgh so far

This is my python script

I’m sure it must not be so difficult to do one i understand what i’m doing better, but it’s a little bit overwhelming.

Thank you

Hi @marc.savoieTRPRP,

The original Python script iterate over a list of names and you’re not feeding a list but a singleton and it explains why the script fails.
You can add a conditional check in the python script to be sure to iterate over a list.

Another small improvement is to output the list of created subcategories.
And then the code becomes :

import clr
clr.AddReference('ProtoGeometry')
from Autodesk.DesignScript.Geometry import *

# Import Element wrapper extension methods
clr.AddReference('RevitNodes')
import Revit
clr.ImportExtensions(Revit.Elements)

# Import geometry conversion extension methods
clr.ImportExtensions(Revit.GeometryConversion)

# Import DocumentManager and TransactionManager
clr.AddReference('RevitServices')
import RevitServices
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
from RevitServices.Transactions import TransactionManager

doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument
uiapp = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentUIApplication
app = uiapp.Application
uidoc=DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentUIApplication.ActiveUIDocument

# Import RevitAPI
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
import Autodesk
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

newsubs=IN[0]

if not hasattr(newsubs, '__iter__'):
	newsubs = [newsubs]