Controlling opening locations

Hi,

I have a question about dynamo in Revit.
First of all, I want to mention that I am completely new in Dynamo and have just started learning it.
So my first issue is:

I am trying to perform the automatic bringing the holes to the position of the middle point of panel

I made a dynamoscript to one point and i don’t know how to proceed.
Maybe I’m doing it completely wrong and I have the wrong work logic…

The main problem is that the positions of the panels and holes are not displayed in the correct coordinate system in the project. dynamo cannot recognize this. The holes are void extrusions inside the family and they have their positions relative to the panel.

If anyone can help me or give me a hint, I would be grateful

Kr, Goran

If the origin of the equipment family is relative to the origin of the opening family, and both are hosted on the same wall, this method might work:

You would need to install the custom package “Spring” in order to use the “Element.SetLocation” node

1 Like

Unfortunately, it will not work because the opening is inside the family and has its own dimensional family parameters in the family(curtain wall), as i mention in the last post .

The biggest problem for me is how to connect coordinate system between those families, curtain wall and air terminal? My idea is that the opening follows air terminal.

Instead of building a point from the panel’s parameter values, you want to find the location of where the opening would place if given the 0,0 value - ideally this is one corner of the panel, as then you could use a series of Topology.Verticies, List.GetItemAtIndex, and Vertext.PointGeometry nodes.

Can you please be more specific? Can you give me a simple and short example
Tnx