Complex Room Numbering for A Stadium

Hello community,
This is my first topic to raise the problem if I can find the solution that I will be the hero.
I have some background on Grasshopper-Rhino environment. However, I face additional problems needs to be solved in Revit environment as well.
I have a stadium model which its rooms must be numbered according to the rules mentioned in the following capture.
How should I combine Primary, Secondary and Tertiary rules, I need some supplementary ideas which I don’t have for now.

1 Like

Let me be more clear and simplify it. I guess it would be better if I run script bay by bay. So we do not need the Primary rule. Secondary and Tertiary rules would be OK.
The secondary is along with the Radial direction it will be ascending toward to center of the radial grid of the stadium.
The tertiary is related to the Clockwise.
Below capture indicates rooms which need to be numbered in zone A-B.

The problem with rules like this is there is always an exception and so programmatically won’t get things 100% right. As such a human factor is needed to work it out.

My method to accomplish this and save tons of time would be to use a renumber by spline technique.

Draw a model line as a spline which follows your rules, and then select by that and renumber acordingly. Search the forums for renumber by spline as that will be easier. Remember you can edit this after the fact as needed.

3 Likes

Possible steps …

1. First group the seats by Primary Direction (AB,BC,CD and EF)
  2. Within each group create sub groups based on Tertiary Direction
  3. Within each sub group sort by Secondary Direction (001-003,004-007,…022-025,027-028)
  4. Flatten (fully or partially) and number sequentially

@brsdmrc Give it a shot and share your attempts. Though each of the above steps would require quite a bit of work, you might actually find it far less daunting than you now think it is.

1 Like