Renumber Rooms Based on Which Area They Exist Within

Im a relative beginner working on a script which will find out which area a room exists in, then renumber it sequentially based on this area.

To explain this with an example, consider 3 rooms which exists within an area named A.101. The idea is that each of these rooms would be numbered A.101.1 // A.101.2 // A.101.3 respectively.

Using Lunchbox Area & Room collector, I have created a polygon containment test to assess if the centre point of a room exists within an area. The list logic returned however is quite complicated, and I dont understand how I can filter out false items in order to rename them.

Note that I have tried alternative methods with Rhythm’s ‘Element.AreaLocation’, however only null values are reported.

Any assistance would be much appreciated!

Ben.

Whoops, that node must’ve broke along the way. I just fixed it and will upload a new version now. It will be the version dated today 20170201.

Thanks for the prompt response John!

There is however some strange behaviour when applied to my test file - When setting the parameter by name, rooms in area 101 are named 102 and vice versa?

1 Like

:disappointed: @b.ross I suppose I need to supply you the rooms that actually have area locations :joy: I’ll reupload now.

Now working perfectly John, thank you for developing such a useful node!

The script is almost doing what I need it to, however my method for adding a unique suffix doesn’t work quite well enough. as you can see below, the ‘.##’ suffix does not reset when a new area number is started. eg.

A.101.1
A.101.2
A.102.3
A.102.4

Where I would like it to be:

A.101.1
A.101.2
A.102.1
A.102.2

Any idea how I might achieve this?

This is what I managed to get. (It’s a bit tedious to figure out which areas only have one room :smile:

and here is the DYN
renumberRoomsByArea.dyn (17.2 KB)

Thanks John. I’ve also added a sort at the start which allows me to number rooms in descending order.

1 Like