Can you open a family with its name?

i am trying to find a way to open a revit family with its name (simple text) instead of using a block to open one family at a time.

Use a get all elements of type (or category) node and then a FilterByBooleanMask node using a == node for the name list and an Element.Name from the families. This should be pretty straight forward.

you can look into the topic on how to use list.filterbyboolmask. it does provide some insight on how you should do from here.

i know it probably is but i have roughly two full days of experience on dynamo and that is just trying things and googling why they dont work. i made another post that summerizes my whole goal with this script im trying to build, this is just another way to do it that would make it so i didnt have to have 260 different code blocks doing the same thing with a different family selected.

i cant use the == node because they have to coincide on the lists. i have a master list of all possible “Product Descriptions” that i want to use dynamo to reference. basically take the 50 different pipe fittings in a project and check them against the list of 200 and see if the product descriptions are right. not sure how to do this since the limited knowledge i have it seems like to compare lists or data they have to be equivalent. is there a way to compare such lists?

Are you trying to do something like this?

In this case, “d1” is a valid description as it is in the other list whereas “d6” is not.

I think I understand what you are trying to do. You have a list of family names and need to get the actual family element but in the same order so that you can do something with it, right? This is one way to do it in node form but may be a little complicated if you are new.