Family.ByName not recognizing fabrication family

Hello all!
I am quite new to Dynamo, so any advice is appreciated. I want to select all instances of a fabrication part, however when I select the part and pull the family name, then feed that name to the Family.ByName node (which pulls the correct family name), it cannot find any matching families in the current document. I only have one document and view open. Additionally, when I pull the family using the Element.GetParameterValueByName, it returns a completely different family name. Does anyone know why this is and how I can select the correct family?

Thank you in advance

Hi,
When you select an element, you want to find out how many of that element there are, if I understand you correctly.
Can you try this

Volcan,
Thank you for the reply. I do not want to just find out how many there are, but to select all of the same family. What I find strange about my node configuration is that it pulls the family name from the current document, and when I go search that same document it says that a family of that name does not exist. I would love to try your code, but unfortunately my distribution does not appear to have the Elements.Type node. Does that come in an addon package?

With this, you can take not only how many, but also those elements and process them.
Archi-lab.net package

Volcan,
For some reason, Archi-lab will not appear under the Addons list after installing, despite installing with no errors. Does it support the latest version of Dynamo? I am currently using the latest build for Revit 2022, which I believe is version 2.12

You need to install the version of Archi-lab for your Revit version. This is the version ending in “22” for Revit 2022, “21” for Revit 2021, and so on. See the link above for more info.

1 Like

@Carter123
You can also use this method if you are having trouble installing the Archi-lab package.