Can I do it in Dynamo?

Hello! I’m new to dynamo, relatively new to revit. I want to know if dynamo can help me solve the revit problem and it is worth investing time into. I’m making a parametric furniture in revit, where family types contain yes/no visibility parameter.

Problem 1. Loading this family into another rfa file or project file will not allow me to schedule all the elements of the family model. I could use “shared” family option to partially solve the problem, but furniture would no longer be parametric as shared family can not have dependencies.

Problem 2. I want to be able to schedule only visible elements of the family type but not all the elements of the family.

So I wonder if I could solve the problems using dynamo and automate the process. If yes, then could you suggest some packages and method I would need to use. Thank you!

For problem 1 i don’t fully understand what you mean. Can’t you just link the nested Family Parameters to the host Family Parameters?
(Basicly that is how you make nested Famlies parametric).
Or use the Family Type Parameter?

For problem 2 just use filters on your Schedule? Also only used / visible Families are shown in a Schedule anyway.

PS
I would stay away from Dynamo until you know more about Revit to be honest. It looks like you look for ‘solutions’ with Dynamo already while these ‘problems’ can easily be ‘solved’ (read done) in Revit and without Dynamo.

It is pointless to start with Dynamo if you don’t have a good understanding how Revit works yet.

3 Likes

Hi @daniyar.assylbekov !
You can link nested families parameters if they are instances parameters

1 Like

You can also link Type Parameters of a nested Family :upside_down_face:.

1 Like

We are talking about shared families, as far as i know, only instances parameters of a shared familiy can be linked.

1 Like

This may help: Associate Family Parameters | Revit | Autodesk Knowledge Network

3 Likes

@daniyar.assylbekov