Bumblebee - Autofit excel columns

Hey,

I’ve been using the awesome Bumblebee package to create a better excel output. Our designers want a one second exporter that takes into account blank lines and ideally some formatting.

I’ve hit a roadblock however: I would like to autofit the columns of the created excel.

My knowledge of python is limited but it seems like Bumblebee is using the Microsoft.Office.Interop classes. I found there’s a function worksheet.Columns.AutoFit(); that one can call to autofit columns but I have no idea how to fit that into the graph. Would you recommand making a new python node for this or should I try to slip it into the Bumblebee node?

Any hints on how to get this project started would be very appreciated.

I have no prior Python experience but have scripted in PHP so I understand basic programming logic. This seems like a fun project to start out with.

A I_Export Schedule.dyn (56.3 KB)

Nobody?

Hey pieter,

That would be very useful as I have come across this as well. My workaround was to use a template excel file with columns sized appropriately to accommodate whatever type of data they take (eg number columns would be smaller than name columns) i then lock the formatting so it doesn’t get overwritten. It’s not perfect but it does maintain a consistency in look across spreadsheets.

Completely agree with Alexis, this has been our go-to solution.

Pieter - I would guess there’s a slight risk with using AutoFit - the problem is that it’s not exactly an intelligent function. For example. if your user inputs 500 characters which is then placed into a cell, you could find that entire column gets stretched massively to accommodate. While this might be what you want, it’s also possible you’d want to use line-breaks or text wrapping to fit the 500 characters into a more sensibly-sized column.