BIM and visual programming survey

Hi Everyone,

I am a student in the U.K. and I am conducting research into BIM and visual programming.

I would be very grateful if you could complete my survey. According to survey monkey it should only take 15minutes.

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/WRSBGBT

Thank you! :slight_smile: And any feedback would be appreciated.

Please do post your findings and final thesis to the forum once time comes :slight_smile: we might all learn something :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Will do

With regards to the question example that you give, I think typically the answer would be large project size, since in a large project you would typically have more repetitive tasks on a large scale that would benefit the most from programming workflows. However, I didnā€™t check the survey. Maybe itā€™s in fact generally not suitable like you say.

Of course, it depends on the project type and all project sizes can benefit from this in one way or another. Larger project just have the biggest benefit.

I think his problem with the question was that being able to select only one option was a weird choice, in addition to the question itself being an odd choice as someone in the industry.

The scale of the project might have different pros and cons for how Dynamo can be useful but to say one size scale benefits more than another is a hard topic to battle and in my opinion not worth the fight.

Meaning, smaller scale projects can utilize more direct changes/graphs and easier to troubleshoot/shorter development time. A larger scale project comes with more problems even for a repetitive task (try geometry intersection on a 4 tower apartment complex). And say you develop a graph to do the repetitive task for a large scale, it still works for small scale.

But, as you said, larger scale projects lets you use the same graph to do x amount more of repetitive actions.

Both give Dynamo a way to be useful, and I would say neither one receive more benefits.