Batch adding text parameters to Mechanical Equipment families for equipment scheduling in REVIT 2019

I am very new to dynamo (started yesterday). I am trying to create a dynamo file to add multiple text parameters to a mechanical equipment family for scheduling equipment in REVIT 2019. There are several families I need to add multiple texts parameters to so doing each one individually would almost not be worth the time. I have a shared parameters (text document) with all the parameters needed for all the equipment. Each equipment family will use different parameters so I will have to have a file for each family. I have read several related post but I cant seem to grasp the concept. Also, a lot of the solutions are using nodes I do not have. Any help will be appreciated. I apologize in advance for for my limited knowledge in this subject.

1 Like

This is a very complex workflow for a new user. My advice is always to begin with the basics before you tackle a full workflow… then use this as your ‘rite of passage’ to truly enter the world of Dynamo.

Still I offer some pointers:
Shared parameters can be added in a workflow similar to this: https://youtu.be/8mRXo37veao

Adding them to multiple files is far more challenging however… it requires a lot of excel data processing and use of the Orchid package. Check out this post where I showed a user how to open families in the background for parameter adjustment: Creating Family Types in Revit

I recommend as a new user however you focus on some fundamentals first;

• Get/set element parameters
  • Family instance vs. type to Dynamo elements
  • Process excel tables
  • Manage lists, sublists and transpose/mapping data

The Dynamo primer has some great starting points for all of these.

Don’t rush!

You are the man! The video you shared lead me to right was I was trying to accomplish. Thank you very much for the help!

1 Like

You’re welcome, I’m glad it helped!

Thank you for the nice videau, I made it.