Batch add units format to text parameter in family

Hi All,

New here and, like many, I am a beginner and a bit over my head. What I am attempting to do is to use Dynamo to take family files in a directory, inspect those files to see what the units are, then add the units as a text parameter within the family. For example, check a family to see if it is “METRIC” or “IMPERIAL”, then create a new parameter in that family and add the information into the parameter.

I have a bit of python code that I modified to find the units. Where I am actually struggling is using some Orchid nodes to load the parameter data. I’m getting error messages for the “familyDocument” input. I’m not sure what I need to attach to that node if I am trying to pull multiple files from a directory. Also, I’m not sure how to save the files at the end of this graph because after perusing other forum posts it looks like the Orchid outputs used to be “Document” but now are “Parameter”. I don’t know how to save and close the documents that are open in the background.

Any help is much appreciated!

Hi and Welcome!

It seems Rythm and Orchid don’t play nice together. I looked at the Description of the FamilyType.All Node from Orchid and it states: “Family Document (rfa) as Orchid Document”, which means you need to provide a “Orchid” Document and not an Revit API Document (Which Rhythm does…)

To get an Orchid Document, you need to Load the Families you want to modify into your project and from there use Family.EditFamily from Orchid. This returns the Open Family Document as an Orchid Document.

It would be nice it the guys from Orchid made a Node which can take a Revit API Document (Autodesk.Revit.DB.Document) and parses it to an Orchid Document

1 Like

Hey All,

If you find any issues, you can always post at the Orchid Github. https://github.com/erfajo?tab=repositories

I think, mostly, you’ll find Orchid nodes to do the whole process, so I’d usually dig around in there.