Add family parameter

Hi everyone,

First of all, im very new to dynamo and trying to learn as much as i can from the forum and youtube.

Goal :-
-add family parameter based on excell without opening the family. (Excell generated from different software)

Package used:-
Crumple
Orchid

i tried follow some of the youtube tutorials and guidance from forum to add, but im failing on this as its not working. not sure where went wrong.

another question, nodes from different package can we mix and use?

Your help is much appreciated. Thanks!!

The FamilyDocument.AddParameter works with a family opened in the Revit Application - so I think in this instance it is not going to work as you are opening family files and accessing their Document property.

The Crumple package does have the FamilyDocAddSharedParameter node which will work. Keep following the AussieBIMGuru @GavinCrump video on YouTube.

Using shared parameters is good practice as these can be used in tags and schedules and used consistently across families and projects

2 Likes

I think the node to add parameter works with single item inputs instead of lists of inputs. Try single item inputs to see if works, also the family document requested looks like different format need to understand what that node demands and create custom python code to fix it or use the document nodes of orchid to achieve it

Hi @FahimAnuar that node expect a revit.application,family document…im not sure which document your node give, but you could try ootb familydocumenttodocument…or try some of rhythm nodes for convert to right document…but im a agree with @Mike.Buttery about shared parameter are probably better

another way could be with birdtool multiplayer instead of BGopen

4 Likes

hi @FahimAnuar
could you explain your case study in more details
and if you don not mind to share with us the final dynamo script and .xls file just to understand what the script goal
thanks in advanced