Automatically placing tags - Only place tags that are visible in view

Hi All,

I’ve created a dynamo script that adds room tags to selected floor plan views in a model. I’ve got to a point where I thought it was working great, but I’ve encountered a problem!

When I select all room tags in the model there are 101092. This is the number of floor plans (254) multiplied by the number of rooms in the model (398). This means room tags are placed for all rooms in the model in every floor plan view. There’s no way for me to see the room tags on the other levels, extending the view range doesn’t show them but they ARE there.

The script works by taking the Element.Location points of the rooms and applying them to each floor plan, but I only want it to tag the rooms that are visible in each view. Does anyone know if this is possible? I think it might require Python coding but I’m still a Dynamo novice, any pointers/advice would be much appreciated!

Regards

Rob

You could probably map the room and the view input data. Have a look at the “Select.ByCategorieAndView” Node:

node

Edit: Oh, just saw that your rooms are in a linked model, don’t know if it will work with the linked elements.

Since my last post is invalid because of the linked elements, I tried another way.

Maybe this could help you:

As you see, I’ve 401 rooms in my linked model. But through the “Select.ByCategorieAndView” Node from the GeniusLoci Package you can filter just the one visible room in the selected view, by connecting the RevitLinkInstance.

Gerrit, thanks for taking the time to look into this. I’m going to give that a go now I’ll let you know how it goes!

I don’t think ‘SelectByCategoryAndView’ helps in this case since it only works with a single view. I need to apply the room tags to a list of views.

In my case it’s actually working with lists.

Maybe you have to take a look on the list levels. If you’ve more levels you have to switch the nodes level:

1 Like