Atomatic displacement

Hi, i’m trying to make a routine that should select all the pipes placed in the model, and move them some meters in the X-axis and in the Y-axis, several times, something like move in x 9800mts 100 times, but i don’t know how to solve this, any idea?
Thanks!!

What have you tried?

From a Dynamo standpoint this is pretty easy.

1. Get the location of the existing pipe.
  2. Build a range using design script ‘0…#100…9800;’
  3. Drop the first item in this list with the List.Drop node (after all you already have a pipe at that location so you don’t need a new one).
  4. Geometry.Translate node to move the geometry along the X and Y axis by the resulting distances.
  5. Create a new pipe at each location.

Steps 2-4 look like this:

i think i can work on that idea, but i need to move a group of pipes without duplicating them, i undestand that the code you propose wil make a hundred copies of each pipe. is that right. Sorry i’m just learning Dynamo.

So you need to move 100 pipes by a given distance? That would be closer to:

1. Element.GetLocation
  2. Geometry.Translate
  3. Element.SetLocation

However if you have massive systems of pipes with connectors and such, things may not want to do that. You’ll have to try out something and show where you get stuck for us to help.