Arc by 3 points

Hi. I’m new to Dynamo but I can already see the potential it has; Thanks to this forum & this community.

Require some guidance reg this: I am trying to create a simple parametric surface with user-defined dimensions. The base is an ellipse (center at 0,0,0) and there is an user-defined “rise” (say, 0,0,2). After dividing the ellipse into 4 EQ parts, we get 2 end points and the “rise” point will serve as the 3rd point; so we draw a curve thru these 3 points. Repeating it on the perpendicular direction, we get the 2nd curve, which will form the backbone for the surface. By (re)defining the “rise”, major & minor axes, we should be able to get a variety of surfaces - Is my understanding correct & is this doable?

What I have done till now:

Easy for me to parametrize the ellipse in Revit CDE; so I have done that & then trying to create the surface in Dynamo - Not a long way forward though…

How to go about this? Is there an easier way to draw the ellipse & ref points (at a different Z value) in Dynamo from scratch?

Any help would be greatly useful

Thanks,

R. Chandrasekar.

You can’t control elements that are modeled in Revit with dynamo yet, unless you make them as parametric families and manipulate their parameters through Dynamo. So what you need to do is first build up the underpinning geometry inside Dynamo and then send the end result to Revit.

I think what you’re looking for is something like this:

2014-07-22_141141

surface1

The sliders control the rise and axes. Hope that helps :slight_smile:

@ Dimitar - Thanks a lot for the prompt reply

Will recreate what you have shown (so I understand it fully) and then I will post my queries

Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

R. Chandrasekar.

@ Dimitar - This is where I have reached, thanks to your help… What is the code block that you have used - Can you please elaborate on that?

Couple of observations: