Write/export Detail Items listed by View

I’m new to Dynamo, but this little thing feels like an obvious starting project in Dynamo.

I want ot make some chanegs to a Detail Component and in order to check that each instance is still buildable I want to list the views in which this detail component is placed. A clumsy way to say this might be
<ul style=“list-style-type: undefined;”>

• Get list of Family Instances in Category Detail Items

• Get list of Views of Type Detail Views

• Foreach View write list of Detail Item Instances Type names to file, for example CSV
  • Am I going about it the correct way? Can anyone help me find the code blocks/nodes I need to use? This business of find what I need is the tricky part for me, as I don't really know what such nodes would be called.

Hopefully you have the insights I need and will share them with me.

PS. Sorry about the formatting mess, I’ve tried to edit my post but it’s not working.

If this is a work shared project, the detail components will inherit a work set by the view in which they are placed. From there it can be as simple as select all detail components>getparametervalue>groupby key.

I will try to post a screenshot later on today if that all makes sense.

imageThis would grab filled regions as well though

I’d recommend using the OwnerView property - every view-specific element in Revit has that prperty, regardless of whether the project is workshared or not. Element.OwnerView in package Clockwork will retrieve the owner view of a given element:

OwnerView

Hi JOhnp, thanks for the help

I understand the concept of Dynamo and visual programming, but have some show stoppers as I move along.

I can’t find the nodes I need, I can’t fin one called ‘Categories’, or ‘All Elements of Category’

I have found GroupByKey.

What is ‘Code Block’ and ElementGetParameterValueByName - and why is it a different color?

Feel free to say RTFM, but please hep me find the relevant bit to read :slight_smile: