Which window belongs to which group

Hi there, I’m new to Dynamo and I’m trying to create a script that read which window belongs to which group. I have the basics but I do not now where to start.

I have 6 windows (names all start with 31A…) and I have 4 groups (1, 2, 3, 4).
I’m trying to get something like:

• 31A… belongs to group 2
  • 31A… belongs to group 1
  • 31A… belonhs to group 1
  • 31A… belongs to group 4
  • etc.

Help please???

Where do you have the “groups”? Is this a parameter you’ve added?

Can you please upload the picture using the camera button in the top right corner (zoom in so that the text is readable and press it to save a screenshot of the entire graph in a readable format).

Alternatively upload a sample .rvt file containing the grouped windows :slight_smile:

Hi Jonathan. Thanks for the reply but I don’t see a camera button in the top right corner. I’m new to this so maybe I’m missing something…

This Is what I see…please help

Duh…Got It…you mean in Dynamo…
Here is my screenshot:

Above I have the group I want filtered out (merk 1,2,3,4) and under I filtered out the windows. I would like to know which window belongs to which group.

Don’t mind the rubbish around the green areas :wink: I’m trying…

Try this:

and set the lacing of the node boundingbox.contains to cross

Try searching your library for group elements. I can’t recall the exact name but I know there is a node which retrieves the elements out of the group. You could then filter that to just the windows (element.category) so get a list of just windows from the groups. You can then use Whatever method you want to filter the windows in the groups out of the windows not in groups.

Thanks for your reply Nico. I tried to lace the boxes together but I get a warning: Warning: One or more of the input types are not matching. Couldn’t find a version of ByGeometry that takes arguments of type (__array)

Any suggestions? I’m stuck here

Hey Everyone,