Filter text notes not in groups

Hello world!
I’m new to Dynamo and the forum, first time posting.
I have a script to change text to upper, but I have trouble figuring out how to only filter text notes that arn’t in a group, cause if the text notes are in a group Dynamo asks to ungroup those instances in order to run the script, which I don’t want to do.

Any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Hi @jonas.nilsson,

Welcome to the forum :slightly_smiling_face:.

I don’t know if there is an existing node for this, but it seems you can use the property below to get the text note’s group id:

http://www.revitapidocs.com/2018.1/9508a6c5-9681-bbef-07c5-1351583b0e1e.htm

I’m guessing this will return null if the text node is not in a group, and this information you’d be able to use as filter. It will require a simple python script though, which I’m guessing (no offense intended) will be a limitation for you at this point. I’d be happy to help you, but Im not at a computer at the moment. If no one has helped you out, I’ll take a look at this tonight :slightly_smiling_face:

This is a possible way to check if the Text Note is in a group:

Python Script:

import clr

#Import the Revit API
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
import Autodesk
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

#Start scripting here:

OUT = [str(i.GroupId) for i in UnwrapElement(IN[0])] 

Good luck :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Thank you so much @MartinSpence!
It works like a charm!
This thing with community and helping each other is a new thing to me, hopefuly I will one day do the same for someone else :smiley:
Next thing up, learn python :smiley:

No probs, happy to help :slight_smile:

1 Like

Since you are doing a boolfilter afterwards, you could alter the script that only returns textnotes not part of a group.

OUT = [i for i in UnwrapElement(IN[0]) if int(str(i.GroupId)) < 0] 

Food for thought

1 Like