What to learn first, Python or Dynamo?

I’m an expert Revit user, but am considering learning visual programming with Dynamo, and also some computer programming languages (Python, C#, Java, ect.).

Should I learn Python by it self first, or jump right into Dynamo for Revit and learn Python later? I’m trying to learn more valuable skills to add to my business, OR eventually transition into an IT programming career. I just want to use my time wisely.

As you are already familiar with Revit, I would first suggest making your way through the Dynamo Primer as you would most immediately benefit from it. @oliver.green has put together a comprehensive Python for Dynamo Primer which addresses how to use IronPython in Dynamo and will be helpful to you down the road. However, I would recommend that you first familiarize yourself with Dynamo to understand its limitations–i.e. understand what is possible in Dynamo before reinventing the wheel in Python.

6 Likes

First up: there is no ‘wrong’ answer here, and knowing both well should likely be the goal.

Personally I’d say start with Dynamo. It’s served me well so I may be biased, but Python as a ‘Revit’ focused business addition will require first learning Python (easy enough), and learning the Revit API (not as easy) at the same time. Conversely Dynamo for Revit will allow you to add onto the business in minimal time frame, while opening the door for you to learn and leverage Python, as well as other tools (ie: Dynamo for Civil 3D/FormIt/etc., Project Refinery, Player, etc.).

In any case, one of the slides I use when introducing Dynamo is VERY clear about one point: Dynamo should be the start of the journey into a new set of tools, not the end.

9 Likes

Thanks for the detailed reply!

So would learning Dynamo help me learn Python faster than trying to learn Python by itself?

At a minimum you’ll lead. The thinking methodologies and some Revit limitations. You won’t learn how to use python though.