Warning:element.setparameterbyname operation failed. the parameter is read-only problem

I am writing to ask for your help with an error message that I am encountering while working with Dynamo in Revit. I am new to using Dynamo and have been following some tutorials to get started.

However, I have come across an error message that I am unable to resolve. Specifically, I am receiving the following error: “Warning: Element.SetParameterByName operation failed. The parameter is read-only.”

I created the family myself in Revit and I am certain that the parameter exists inside the family. Despite my efforts, I have been unable to find a solution to this issue on my own.

Therefore, I would greatly appreciate any assistance that you could provide in helping me to solve this problem. I am eager to continue learning and using Dynamo, and any guidance that you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

This is the tutorial video I watched and followed to do this :
(Full Tutorial) Random rotating facade using Revit and Dynamo - YouTube.

Thank you in advance for your help.
family screenshot

problem screenshot

@ilyass.hlioua this is a Revit warning stating that the parameter you are trying to change is Read Only. I know your screenshots show that it is not in fact read-only, so it’s a little perplexing.

Would you be able to upload your family (No need for project) so that I can test? I’ve upped your permissions to do so.

You won’t be able to modify the adaptive component parameters outside the massing editor. Unfortunately, there’s no API for handling the massing editor so you can’t automate this within the project environment.

If you watch the tutorial carefully you’ll see that they’re actually doing this for a massing family (in the family editor). Dynamo should be able to modify the parameters there.

2 Likes

yeah sure, here it is the family and the API, you can use them in any mass and try it as its shown in the video.
random parametric.dyn (12.0 KB)