Wall Layers and Material Custom Parameters

I was wondering if it was possible to access Revit wall layers (compound structure) and their properties? I was also wondering if it was possible to access Revit material custom parameters. I’m not a programmer unfortunately so I’m hoping there are custom nodes available to do these things as I think these items are available theough the API. Sorry if my questions are elementary or annoying.

Hello Rob,

yes, you can access custom material parameters:

custommaterialparams

Regarding compound layers: it is definitely possible -e.g. I have a node that looks for variable layers in compound structures. Can you describe what type of info you need? I will need to access compound layer info for a research project in a couple of weeks from now, so maybe I can cook up something that both of us find useful.

This is interesting for many reasons. Have’t tested yet but anyone know how to get (and change) appearance assets custom color (RGB) values?

Try Material.Properties in package Clockwork - that’ll give you the shading colour. I can put the colour change on my todo list, looks pretty straightforward.

BTW: Wouldn’t it be nice if the colours were actually visible in Dynamo, e.g. in a Watch node or the Color.ByARGB node?

Hello Andreas Dieckmann,

I if understand your question, you need a way to get Geometries in multiple color in Background preview itself right?

Thanks,

Ritesh

@Andreas: colors in dynamo would definitely be great!

Hello Ritesh, no. Håvard was asking about a way to change material colour in Revit using Dynamo (which we can do using Python), not the colour of geometry entities in Dynamo - although that would be really nice as well in order to be able to distinguish between different elements in preview. Maybe that could be made available through the context menu of the respective geometry nodes (“Set preview colour”).

Andreas,