Wall Center Lines with Dynamo

Hi there,
I’m very new to Dynamo but I used Grasshopper in the past and they look very similar so I’m hoping there is a way to do what I want in Dynamo, but I just don’t know the nodes well enough to do it.

What I’m trying to do is create a detail line based on my walls’ centre line. So, basically I want to be able to select a Wall Type, find it’s centre line, and create a detail item (a line) from that, so that I can show it on a set of construction plans I need to produce. It doesn’t sound too complicated but I can’t find the right workflow on dynamo. Googled it for a while, but didn’t find any helpful info, so, I decided to ask for your help.

Found this video, which looks exactly what I’m trying to do, but plays too fast and resolution is not good enough for me to understand what he does:

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks,
Maria
Architect | Designer

3 Likes

Hi @maria.tzamp,

I didn’t watch the video but you can create a line in the center of the wall like this :

3 Likes

Hi @Alban_de_Chasteigner,
Thanks for your quick and efficient reply! Exactly what I wanted. But just to understand, the ‘ElementGetLocation’ is the node that gives me the centre line of any element? I would expect a node called ‘center-something’…

Thank you again,

You’re welcome.

The walls are curves based elements so GetLocation outputs a line.
For other elements the result will be the center point.

1 Like

Hi Maria,

Just something to watch out for… Obviously the detail lines aren’t attached to the wall, so you’ll need to keep deleting and recreating before you print, to keep them up to date… if you’re dimensioning etc. that might cause issues…

A different approach might be in Revit to split your wall core into 2… you’ll get a line which is always going to follow your wall… obviously this creates its own problems, but worth considering before you jump in :slight_smile:

Hope that helps,

Mark

Hi @Mark.Ackerley ,