Using multiple Python inputs

Hi,

I’m trying to check four values with this Python script. However this script only checks the value from the fourth input. My Python knowledge is very limited. How can I ensure the script checks all the input values and enters them in the output? I want to use these values as input for other nodes. Is it possible to get these values as four separate outputs instead of one?

Thanks in advance!

As simple as that:

a = IN[0]
b = IN[1]

You can’t have separate outputs but you can output them as list:

OUT = [a, b, c]
1 Like

Hey,

So your first question… The reason you’re just getting the last item outputted is that you’re creating a variable dataEnteringNode, then you are setting it’s value to IN[0], then you are changing it’s value to IN[1] etc. so when you run your test, it is against the final value you have set it to… 400.

Tomasz solved the 2nd part of your question.

I’m afraid there’s quite a lot wrong with your Python (and I’m no expert).

I recommend the free course at CodeAcademy https://www.codecademy.com/learn/learn-python or if you have a Lynda account, there is a course there also.

Here’s my version of what you’re kind of trying to do… I’ve had to adjust it a bit to make sense…

You’re feeding in several values (usually in Dynamo you’re feeding in 1 list of several numbers). Usually when you do this you define each of the inputs separately. Then you need to add them to a list and test them sequentially. I’ve shown the usual way (Append) but also a way of adding several values (extend).

Edit: As noted below, because every input is being used in the For Loop, you don’t need num0 = IN[0] or append etc. etc., you can just type listnums = IN and use that list. However this is an unusual case.

Other things to note…

• An Elif needs to be terminated by an Else.
    Edit: as described below this is incorrect, however for the purposes of this code, it is more efficient to use else.