Set Parameter By Name node is writing different values

Hi Guys,

I have been developing scripts for almost six months. I have been assigned to analyze one of the previous inter’s scripts. While doing this, I realized that the Set Parameter By Name node is writing different values to the element. Surprisingly they are correct. I could not understand how it happened.

I tried resetting and running the script again. It is happening the same every time.

I will explain block by block.

1. The first block reads data like column coordinates and corresponding forces from a sofistik database using python and gives out of coordinates Revit points and three forces as a dictionary.

2. Second block gets corresponding columns from the corresponding floor and gives their location (XYZ points)

3. Third block (important), here, we are comparing coordinates from both sources (Sofistik and Revit) to find the closest point pair. So that we can match Sofistik columns with Revit columns. The output is a sorted list of Revit columns according to the sofistik columns.

4. Last block is to sets parametric value (forces) from sofistik to elements of revit (column) by name (parameter names, strings)

Doubt.dyn (88.9 KB)

Problems:

• If you see the image below, the index-0 of each list is not exactly written to the element of index-0. the element in the index 0 position gets values from somewhere index-82. And so on index-1 is getting from index-109 of values.
  • Also the values are repeated by . in the decimal position. But while writing them to the element parameter the node is using , as a decimal separator. Why is this happening?

Hi @kuladeep561