Rotate family along a path

Hello!
Im having a problem with the rotation of my family along a path. It shouldnt be a huge problem but Dynamo only rotates the first family and the others not. (see screenshot).
Could anyone assist in this?
Thank you in advance!

Hi :slight_smile:

Have you tried using the list levels ? Try setting FamilyInstance.SetRotation inputs level to @L2 and @L1.

http://primer.dynamobim.org/en/06_Designing-with-Lists/6-3_lists-of-lists.html#

But the input level for "SetRotation is already set to @L2 and @L1 or not?
And from the list it seems like only the first point is coming through and the others not.

Could you show what you tried ? :slight_smile:

Here is what i thought of :

16bfdcfcaeadf7721f46d257a623cb71d5f135d2

1 Like

yeahh it worked like that. Im pretty new to Dynamo so I didnt know how to do that :smiley:
Thank you! :slight_smile:
May I have another question?
When I got a family with a profile which is extruded for example about a meter, it needs to have two points.
So I want to place this family along a path. How do I do that?

Glad i helped :slight_smile:

I’m no expert, but if your family is an adaptive component family, you can use the AdaptiveComponent.ByPoints node.

Im not sure how to place both points of my adaptive family on the path. Have you got a solution for that? :slight_smile:

You should use AdaptiveComponent.ByPoints to make adaptive components. To use it, you need to feed a list of sublists, where the sublist has the points to make the component by. The list structure should be like this:

[0] List - for adaptive component 1
    [0] Point1
    [1] Point2
[1] List - for adaptive component 2
    [0] Point1
    [1] Point2
etc...
2 Likes

Well, clearly it depends on your whole your graph but the idea is to generate couples of points that describe the placement of the instances of your families. The AdaptativeComponent.ByPoints node should help you do that.

Refer to @kennyb6 post, he said it all :slight_smile: