Revit Plug-in - HelloWorld.py

Hey all,
I was wondering if there is a way to run a python script from a add-in I created? For Example: I push a button on my ribbon and it runs the python version of “Hello World”.

Where I work, I am unable to install PyRevit or any other add-ins unless pre-approved and I could wait years for approval (If I get it)

What are you expecting to execute your python code then? An external application? On your Revit file? More information would be helpful.

Also, why not just run the equivalent code in your add-in?

Hey Nick,
My goal in Revit is to run reports. When the ‘hello world’ button is selected, I just want it to report project information back to me (from the hello world.py script.)

As for running equivalent code, I am assuming your referring to C#? Answer to that my friend is, I am fairly new to coding and Python is the quickest for me to do. Eventually I’ll expand but for now, I’m pushing to learn Python.

If I can write the whole add-in in python, I would be more than happy to do that but again, still learning.

Why not just use Dynamo then, and leverage Dynamo Player?

I’m usure if i am not understanding the question(s)? here, but here is my take on this.

First question: Can you run a Python script from an add-in i created?
A: There isn’t sufficient information to answer this question if you made the add-in. You were the creator of the add-in so maybe you tell us if it can run a Python script? (If you were asking if it wis possible to do so…yes is the answer, but not really at a beginner level unless you find a step by step guide out there.)

Second Question: Can you report information back to you if the button is pressed.
A: Yes, @GavinCrump has done a nice video on this with the use of his custom package (Crumple)