Revit Dynamo View Filter Creation Help

Hello,

I am rather new to the whole world of Dynamo, I have searched the forums and google high and wide and found a dynamo script only that appears to work for my purpose.

My end goal with this script is for it to create filters automatically once the section view is dropped onto a sheet. Once the section is dropped onto a sheet the Sheet Number parameter is automatically filled in so I felt this was a good parameter to use for this. the type of filter i want created would be applied to section category and the sheet number would be used in a not equal style format.

In my attempts to create the same script Im running into errors with the ParameterFilterelement.ByRules node.

I have tried the same script with some restructuring to utilize the Archi-Lab ViewFilter.CreateFilter node as well and cant seem to get that to work.

This is my current warning from the ParameterFilterelement.ByRules node, Warning: ParameterFilterElement.ByRules operation failed.
One of the given rules refers to a parameter that does not apply to this filter’s categories.
Parameter name: elementFilter

I have read several posts that this node may be broken however I cant get any workaround to actually function.

I am currently running Revit MEP 2020.

Thanks

Hi @rmcdonaldssmi,

I have ran into the same problem, but I don’t know if the solution is the same.

My problem was that when I have a section view which is placed onto a sheet, it has the Parameter “Sheet Number” twice. (I dont know why).

One of the 2 parameters can be used for filters and I couldn’t find out which.

What I did was brute force my way through Python.

SheetNumberFilters.dyn (61.4 KB)

This might work for you, the steps are easy:

1. Get all Section Views

2. Get both “Sheet Number” parameters from each Section view

3. Make sure there are 2 parameters per section view (Sometimes it has 1).

4. Create a filter Name per Section View