Rerun Butterfly cases in OpenFOAM

First I would like to give a shout out to Mostapha at Ladybug-tools, great tools and great video tutorials! I’m a HVAC engineer and just started to use Butterfly to generate CFD cases in OpenFoam. Butterfly has the potential to greatly simplify our workflow when using CFD to help us design. We have had issues running a cases created by butterfly outside of Dynamo. We would like to run the initial calculation through Dynamo then tweek it in OpenFoam and use paraview to analyse the results for reports. When I rerun the Indoor Airflow Case from the terminal (I typically run a Allrun script) I get a File Not Found error, then it references the …/1/p file. In an effort to isolate the issue I ran blockMesh and snappyHexMesh but no inlets or outlets were created. Am I missing something in the OpenFoam post-processing? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks ahead of time for your effort.

Hi @fluke0, Thank you for the nice comments.

The file missing error is happening for two different reasons. I try first to explain the process and then cause of the issue.

The workflow in Butterfly is designed to write the files to folders only when they are needed. Because of that the case files are saved to the folder in 2 steps.

1. Create Case writes the files that are needed for blockMesh and snappyHexMesh. It does NOT write the boundary condition though. The main reason not to write the boundary condition is that we don’t know about the boundaries that are needed for the study until we know about the recipe which is not known data until we get to the Create Solution node.

2. Create Solution writes all the boundary condition. Once you write the solution you should be good to go for running the simulation from the command line.