Rename a shared parameter in family to match the family type name

I use R2024 and my families have a shared text parameter called “SHARED TYPE MARK”, which I use for the typemark of elements and show in a tag and schedule.

I try to also name the family type the same the exact same way. Now my idea is to name the family type and then run a Dynamo script to read that name, and apply that to the “SHARED TYPE MARK” parameter.

I envision to select one instance of the family with dynamo, then run the script and all those shared parameters get named to match the type name.

I’m a noob, I started something, but I’m stuck. I managed to select one element (obviously this is only one of the types) and somehow read the family name, but it actually focusses more on reading the type name.

Could someone point me in a better direction?

Typemark_Naming.dyn (15.3 KB)

EL_Emergency-Lighting-Inverter_Myers_Illuminator EM.rfa (464 KB)

ElementType.FamilyName should return the family name rather than the type name.

1 Like

And a better approach would be to run your script over not just the selected element, but over all the loaded elements of whatever catagory you want. This appears to be electrical equipment. By running the script over all the loaded equipment types, you won’t have to constantly update your loaded families one by one. (The idea is to save time, right?) You can run the script before printing and know all the values are up-to-date.

You don’t need a special shared parameter for “Shared Type Mark” You could have just used the built-in Type Mark field. It schedules an tags. You just don’t see it until the family is in the project (So you can’t pre-set it.) but no matter! you have a script to set it in the project to the correct value. Woo hoo! Adding a lot of unneeded redundant parameters if the Achilles Heel of Revit.