Region Area, Can't Fillter by type name, Null value in list, Dereferencing a non-pointer

RegionAreaFilterbyNames.dyn (17.7 KB)

Hi guys, I’m new to Dynamo, I have a difficult problem that I don’t know how to solve. I want to extract the value of the Area instance parameter of the Filled Region elements into the Region Area instance parameter that I created myself, but extract only for the filled region elements that I filtered by name, but in my working file i can’t make it with this approach, can someone help me in this case? I think the error is caused by null value in the list, but I don’t understand why and how to solve it, please help me, many thanks…
Please check with my Revit file for exact details, only when in this file, the error occur…

The background:
So basically your issue is dealing with nulls. Null values will cause issues (warnings) with most functions but only “break” when the null cannot be passed on. In your example Element.Name and String.Contains have errors on the individual items with null values, causing warnings but still allowing the node to execute. List.FilterByBoolMask filters the items into two lists based on a boolean value. Null is not a boolean and therefore won’t get filtered into either list, breaking the node’s functionality.

The fix:
Cleanup your nulls. It’s pretty much always in your best interest to take care of your nulls one way or another. Either filter out the Detail Item elements without an ElementType before getting their name or convert the null values to false values before applying the boolean mask. The former prevents you from having cascading warnings so I’d recommend that solution.

2 Likes

I tried replacing the null value in the list but it still doesn’t work, can you help me by your graph with my revit file :smiling_face_with_tear:

Can someone help me in this case :smiling_face_with_tear: :smiling_face_with_tear: :smiling_face_with_tear: :smiling_face_with_tear:

@luongbaohoanggia1997 ,

Can you try this…