RayBounce to work on linked files

Hello. Have you been able to get RayBounce to work on linked files? I’m having trouble myself.

Try bakery or data shapes package: https://data-shapes.net/2016/10/15/raybounce-on-a-linked-model/

1 Like

Hi @clooz8 ,
I have seen your comment on the data-shapes blog. The nodes in data-shapes should be working fine. I just tested them . Could you share a screenshot of your graph so we can see where it might go wrong?

I’m a beginner at Dynamo so I could be overlooking something simple. I’m attempting to retrieve the ceiling height from the linked architectural model and importing that ceiling height into the Limit Offset of my Spaces in my MEP model.

@clooz8 ,
you’re right there’s actually an issue with that node. I fixed it but I’m having a hard time updating the package right now. So I suggest you open the custom node and replace what’s inside the python node with the following :

#Copyright (c) mostafa el ayoubi
#Data-Shapes www.data-shapes.net 2016 elayoub.mostafa@gmail.com

import clr
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import*

clr.AddReference('ProtoGeometry')
from Autodesk.DesignScript.Geometry import *

clr.AddReference('RevitServices')
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager

import System

doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument

#Document UI Units

UIunit = Document.GetUnits(doc).GetFormatOptions(UnitType.UT_Length).DisplayUnits

#Inputs : Points, Direction, 3D View
if isinstance(IN[0],list):
	points = [XYZ(UnitUtils.ConvertToInternalUnits(i.X,UIunit),UnitUtils.ConvertToInternalUnits(i.Y,UIunit),UnitUtils.ConvertToInternalUnits(i.Z,UIunit)) for i in IN[0]]
else:
	points = [XYZ(UnitUtils.ConvertToInternalUnits(IN[0].X,UIunit),UnitUtils.ConvertToInternalUnits(IN[0].Y,UIunit),UnitUtils.ConvertToInternalUnits(IN[0].Z,UIunit))]

direction = XYZ(IN[1].X,IN[1].Y,IN[1].Z)
view = UnwrapElement(IN[2])

ex = []
pts = []
elems = []
_category = IN[3]