Questions for beginners

I think that there is a need for setting up the topic for total beginners. I sometimes have a question which is too simple for opening separate topic, and I think that there is a lot of people like me. So I think that this would be a good place for asking such stupid questions.

So here is my first question.

1. How to create rectangle? I don’t know what to insert in “transform” window-? How to specify insertion point, like the description says ? How to draw reference lines out of predefined rectangle ?

These are not stupid questions at all, and we are working on better training materials as we speak. As you said, the need is definitely large for this!

There are some differences between the available versions of Dynamo right now. The older version (v0.6.3) is the latest stable release, and that’s what you have if you downloaded from the front page. The newer version isn’t officially released yet, but it’s about to be, as v0.7.1, and you can get the latest build from the downloads page:

Capture

If you’re just learning, use the daily build. In v0.6.3, you can forget about the transform by using an “Identity Transform,” which is to say, none at all, so that your rectangle appears in the center and in the XY plane. Pass the rectangle to a Model Curve node to send it to Revit. Basically anything that talks to Revit is in the Revit library.

In the daily build, there are several different ways to create anything–five ways to create a rectangle, for example, and none involve transforms. Though, you can transform (rotate, translate, scale) the rectangle once you have it. Using the daily build:

Capture

I updated to last version and started using 0.7 version .

I want to rotate this rectangle now. I have a problem with “origin” and planes. Can’t I just pick a plane or level (is level also treated as a plane in dynamo?) from massing interface ? How do I know where is the origin of the plane is and how to set the value of it ?