Questions about object binding

I’m working on creating a dynamo graph with the purpose of ‘automatically’ filling in station and elevation values from a calc file (xlsx) and applying them to a profile in Civil 3D. I’m still new to dynamo so I apologize for asking what I suspect might be an ‘easy’ question for a lot of you folks. The deal is the graph works but with one minor little hitch. The first time I run it, it creates a new profile and appends the name with (1) after it. After that, the object binding is created and running the graph again will merely update the newly created profile.

So, the question is, can I somehow force the object binding if the object already exists in the cad file? I thought that by selecting the profile and passing that to the name it would understand I don’t want a new one but it appears I need something else. I read through the object binding information, but I didn’t see anything for this particular situation. Hopefully, I didn’t miss it…

Hi.
Yes, object binding needs a special chapter all by it self. @mzjensen explains it pretty good in this post.

In Civil 3D 2023 you can remove the binding under ”Dynamo” menu or select how binding should be stored.
The dark side is that this setting is not tied to the graph, it will be tied to Dynamo and needs to be changed if you want to run another graph with another setting

I actually set it to not keep binding but it might be incorrect in your situation

Yes but what if I want to create a binding for an object that exists in the cad file prior to the first usage of dynamo?

It seems like I need a node or something to ‘create’ a new binding to an existing cad entity. In this case, “Proposed Stream Profile.”