Placing a tunnel ring on alignment via coordinate list

I’m fairly new to Dynamo. I have a script which is reading a CSV coordinate list (X, Y, Z) and places a fresh generated “cylinder ring” between point A and point B of the coordinate list.

My question is: Is it possible to place a drawing of a tunnelring (DWG) between the coordinates instead of placing a simple cylinder block?

Doesn’t have to be my script. It can be a complete new one.
This is my script. In the upper left corner there’s a screenshot of the completed script with the cylinder rings. I want to place my own tunnel rings (C3D dwg-drawing) instead of the cylinders.

HI

Can you attach any example drawing and example dyn file for your ideas

Unfortunatly I can’t upload any attachment as a “new” member :frowning:

If u can provide an email adress, I can send u the files tho

Use any upload site online

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1T1M_mc0v7S6o3B4nBhq1uzyUQOplf612?usp=sharing

Contains: Script of mine, tunnel ring (dwg drawing) & coordinate list

1. Convert your DWG to a block in the current drawing. I’d just do this manually as each job might be different, so automating that is a step for another day.
  2. Instead of a point, create a coordinate system. You can do this by using the vector you are using for your cylinder, the point you’re using at the origin, and taking the cross vector fo the normal and the Z axis.
  3. Use a Block.ByCoordinateSystem to place the block created prior to Dynamo at each instance.

A better solution might be to create an alignment via the points, and find the coordinate systems along the alignment.

1 Like

That’s actually a good idea. I will test it this week and keep u guys updated here.

Other ppl are still welcome to give solutions aswell :slight_smile:

@Stefan375 @jacob.small
Dear Stefan,