Model organic shape

HI everyone! Hello, I’m new to using Dynamo. I’m trying to model a shape like the one in the image, and so far I only have those surfaces. Does anyone have an idea of how to create the top part of the cover?
Thanks!

@gvero774 , might be worth a watch.

1 Like

Create a few more curve profiles and loft.
You could also consider creating multiple sectional profiles at intervals and loft them.

If you can work out the mathematical formula for the desired form, that would be the most elegant approach.

You could attempt something like this later.

n = 50;
u = -75..150..#n;
v = 0..360..#n;
x = ((1.25+Math.Sin(u))<1>*(Math.Cos(v)+0.25))*1.25;
y = (1.25+Math.Sin(u))<1>*Math.Sin(v);
z = Math.Cos(u)*1.5;
NurbsSurface.ByPoints(
Point.ByCoordinates(x<1>,y<1>,z<1><2>));
10 Likes

Amiga @gvero774 Buenas como estas?? The solution of @Vikram_Subbaiah it is correct but it is very advanced because he uses code blocks, maybe something more with nodes will help you to understand better, you just have to reproduce more curves that help to smooth the surface maybe scaling the last of the big ones and moving it a little higher, the idea is to draw cross sections as if they were contour lines, I hope this helps you!

you need check also the order of the list of curves is important!!

2 Likes

Hi everybody! Thanks for the collaboration! I’ve managed to finish the shape.
Does anybody know how to make that triangle pattern on the surface?

2 Likes

what is your ultimate goal? Do you want to keep the geometry in dynamo? Do you plan to move the geometry to some other program?

Hi! I need to use it as a building facade in Revit .

You can use nodes from lunchbox or you can split surface manually.

2 Likes

HERE’S THE VIDEO OF HOW I SPLIT SURFACE MANUALLY.

2 Likes

Wow, this looks great! I’ll take a look at it and see what I can do. Thanks!

Attempt to create the pattern manually, you’ll learn a lot in the process.