LoopWhile or Python about [PolyCurve.ByJoinedCurves]

Hello,
You know, [PolyCurve.ByJoinedCurves] node,
Whether or not this node is executed is determined depending on the input tolerance.

I am trying to program a python node to create a minimum tolerance value that will ensure that this node does not return a null value.
But I’m python beginner.
I’m studying to understand the principles, but it’s difficult to me. :sob:
Could you please give me a help? Python or LoopWhile node both is okay.
Thanks!

@Lynn_Kim ,

i am not sure for what the python script is good for… :confused:

KR

Andreas

1 Like

I think you’re overthinking this. This is based on your acceptable tolerance. It’s not really an issue of finding a “minimum” allowable value. If you want the curves to always join then use an incredibly large number. Obviously the smaller the tolerance the more “accurate” the joined polycurve will be, but if you don’t want it to fail then the you don’t care about how accurate it is.

1 Like

Might hop on this tonight as I see value in a PolyCurve.ByMinimalToleranceJoin node… can you provide a dataset?

1 Like

If you can get your curves in lists of segments this should exhaust tolerances until one works:

# Boilerplate text
import clr

clr.AddReference('ProtoGeometry')
from Autodesk.DesignScript.Geometry import PolyCurve

# Define list/unwrap list functions
def tolist(input):
    result = input if isinstance(input, list) else [input]
    return result

# Do some action in a Transaction
lineLists  = tolist(IN[0])
tolerances = tolist(IN[1])

# List for polycurves
polyCurvesOut = []

# For each line list
for lineList in lineLists:
	# We assume no result to begin with
	pc = None
	# Try each tolerance until one works
	for t in tolerances:
		# Try to get a polycurve
		try:
			pc = PolyCurve.ByJoinedCurves(lineList,t,False,0)
			if pc:
				break
		except:
			pass
	# Append the polycurve
	polyCurvesOut.append(pc)

# Preparing output to Dynamo
OUT = polyCurvesOut

6 Likes