Install Python library without pip

python

Hello,

I’m new to Python, so please bare with me. I would like to use python-docx within Dynamo to be able (or try) to write to a Word document.
I went on the website for it and it explains how to install it using pip install but I don’t know how that works in IronPython through Dynamo or if it’s possible to use in Dynamo.
I’ve installed python-docx and lxml (a dependency) in a local folder but I don’t know how to access it.

So far I’ve tried this code but it can’t seem to get the library.

import clr
import sys
sys.path.append(r’[local path where python-docx is installed]’)

Is there something I’m missing when it comes to Python packages? Does it need to be put in a specific spot?

Any help is appreciated!
Thanks!

Lynn

In general, don’t use anything not supported by IronPython 2.7.3 out of the box. You cant ensure that others have the same packages as you have. That version doesn’t support pip.
It looks unfortunately also to be the same outdated version of IronPython that will continue in Dynamo 2.0

I had hoped that ‘pythonnet’ (in a Python 3.6 version) could have been implemented instead, but that doesn’t seem to be the case (https://github.com/pythonnet/pythonnet).

If you place you downloaded python package in the lib folder (IronPython) and it has the --init–.py file, then should you be able to implement it using the normal path to IronPython… and obviously also only if your package support that version of Python!

Below is another way of implementing sys.path, by using insert you ensure that the path to IronPython is the primary path.

import sys
sys.path.insert(0, 'C:\Program Files (x86)\IronPython 2.7\Lib')

You can run external commands like scripts or executables from Dynamo. You can parse your data from Revit to Dynamo and then run a Python script from outside Revit and Dynamo. You can run Python with every library you need and both Python 2.x and 3.x
Take a look at this.

@Tomasz