Imported SAT. Workflow

Hi,

I am hoping to get some advice on what would be the most logical approach to convert a sat file into Revit building model.

The sat file is created in Grasshopper, we have currently loaded the model into the project and manually assigned curtain wall by face. The issue is on the main facade, the sub-division will go through quite some changes in the design development stage, meaning the number of panels will change. Hence we won’t be able to fully rely on wall by face update with the panel number discrepancy.

I have looked into Importing Sat. to Revit for reference. Heres my thoughts on how to make a start on the script;

Select model -> Get all faces -> filter vertical faces only -> assign curtain wall

This process will require creating new faces with every iteration, which means I will lose all the relevant dimensions/tags. I could be wrong

Thanks!
Kevin

You could try adaptive panels

Hi Kevin.

I’m still new to Dynamo but I did get my graph working to import sat files. But I’m not sure my method will help you. I created a graph that imports individual sat files from a folder directory into Revit by creating a family for each instance based on the name of the sat file. This allows me to update the families in the project by basically creating a new family with the same name and overwriting the existing family. I added a step after the Spring node that creates the families to delete new instances if there is already an instance with the same name.

Maybe this will help?

This is the kind of a question that we can’t really help you here. It’s a really quite a big task to get a mass from Rhino converted into Revit native families. Sure, there are ways to do that, but this forum is not really a good place to ask a very general question. The answer would be really more like 100 small answers because the whole process is a little more involved than: do this and that.