Huge tree table in Excel, how can I get this into Revit

Hi There,

I am very new to Dynamo and think it will be of great benifit.

I have a table from a surveyor who has completed a Tree survey for us but think 4oo trees will take too long to put in maually.

If someone can help me Id really appreciate it. I would have so many uses for this as I receive coordinates all the time and usually use points to place from a CAD link.

Anyway my list is here in meters.

List has

Point number

Easting

Northing

Tree Spread

Tree height

and trunk Diameter.

sample tree list

Can dynamo make this work? Just with any generic tree.

I only have 3 trees in this one.

Thanks and I look forward to learning more about dynamo.

Cheers

Allan

Hi Allan

Yes it can.

However, you would need to work through how the properties in the spreadsheet relate to Revit objects:
For example

• is the diameter an instance parameter, or a type parameter
  • Is the 'height' the height of the tree above ground, or the elevation above a datum (level)
  • What is the elevation of the base of the tree ?
  • Is the point column meant as the tree number or a 'mark'

Andrew

Gday Andrew,

Many thanks for your reply, its much appreciated. I will try and answer your questions.

I am obviously new at this so apologies for anything that I don’t understand. I usually create a surface using Civil3d (triangulated) and CAD link in the file to datum rl0.0 using that layer “Triangles”.

This way the surface is at the correct Australia Height Datum. So the height of the tree should sit at the correct height.

The elevation of the tree is at ground level (where the trunk meets the ground). We can forget about the tree number I guess, its relevant in Civil3d (Tree table but probably not for REVIT).

I am not sure about what you meant by this…??? is the diameter an instance parameter, or a type parameter ???