How do you delete all views in a Revit model using Dynamo?

Hi all,

I am fairly new to Dynamo, but learning everyday!

I can’t understand why this seemingly simple task isn’t working. I’ve tried two techniques:

1. The Document.Views node from Clockwork package and the Delete Elements node from Archi-lab-Grimshaw package. This results in no views being deleted.

2. The Get All Views node from the Archi-lab_Grimshaw package and the Delete Elements node from Archi-lab-Grimshaw package works, however I’m not sure of the best way to use these two nodes without having several “Delete Elements” nodes (one per view type). Is there a way to concatenate a list of these different view types so that I can use a single “Delete Elements” node to delete all views?

Thank you in advance!

You can use a big 'ol list.create and flatten. Then feed that into delete.

Jumbo size that bad boy then hit the BOOM button (aka delete node, for those less bombastic amoungst us)

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. I just tried your method but the Delete Elements didn’t delete any views in the Revit model.

Is it possible that there is an issue with the Delete Elements node input says “Elements”? Is there some sort of conversion I need to do to the items in the flattened list? Pardon my laymen’s terms.

Here is the Workflow that I tried:

Some of those views probably can’t be deleted.

It didn’t seem to delete any views whatsoever.

You need a list.clean at the end. I can post a screenshot later.

*List.clean after the flatten. With a false on preserve indices.

Try the following instead:

8 Likes

you CANNOT delete all views from Revit model. There is a restriction that won’t allow you to delete all of them. Now, leave at least one out of the deletion process and you will be fine. I guess.

This worked! Thank you so much.

Yes, it totally makes sense that you cannot delete all views, I just wish there was some sort of error message.