Group Column Headings in a Schedule

I’v created a schedule and formatted its components by using Rhythm package
I’m not a python expert but i’v searched about any node that can grouping schedule columns headers like image below

but no result :worried: :worried:
-I’ve searched in API 2018 and found a method for doing that which is

Autodesk.Revit.DB.ViewSchedule.GroupHeaders(Int32, Int32, Int32, Int32) : Void

I also knew that to apply this action, the schedule view should be the active view before applying the script
Also i’ve read this article from Building Coder

https://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com/blog/2013/04/grouping-schedule-headers-and-how-to-do-something.html

Is there a python script can be made for that ?
Thanks in advance.

You’ll actually want this method:
https://www.revitapidocs.com/2017.1/62a4bc0e-5226-eaed-2881-0bc0a8f259d6.htm

The examples are in C# and VB but they’re pretty close to the Python equivalent. Take a look at some other Python codes on the forum, preferably dealing with schedules, and see what you can put together.

2 Likes

Thanks alot @Nick_Boyts but i’m not a python expert so i cant do anything unfortunately :slight_smile:

That’s why I’m suggesting you go through the forums and see what other people have done. A lot of what you need can be copy/pasted from other python scripts. Just make an attempt. Python is actually pretty easy to learn compared to other languages and can be very rewarding.

2 Likes

it takes too much to learn programming foundations and i have not this margin of time
Thanks a lot dear

Reanimating this thread from 4 years ago, as i was stuck on the same exact topic last night. Reading the posts above to get to the APIDocs was helpful (thank you!), but converting that to Python (or even knowing where to start), was way above my current knowledge base.