Get dimension style precision?!

Hi guys!

I am wondering if anyone knows a way to pull a dimension style’s ‘Precision’ Settings? I am created a QA family to check the precision of our dimension styles against an ‘acceptable’ list. Some of our users have been rounding dimensions…

I can get the dim styles to check against project settings but the project settings are often changing on individual dim styles. I cant find a way to pull this information, Im hoping someone has a way!

Thanks,

That too is on my to-do list. I believe it’s been done but I don’t know yet how they did it.

There is a BuiltInParameter Enumeration for DIM_STYLE_LINEAR_UNITS on RevitAPIDocs that looks promising but I’m still new to the API so not sure yet how to utilize it.

This may help:

See below for another implementation of what Jacob has linked to above:

import clr
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import FilteredElementCollector, DimensionType, BuiltInParameter

clr.AddReference('RevitServices')
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager

doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument
dim_styles = FilteredElementCollector(doc)\
	.OfClass(DimensionType)\
	.ToElements()
bip = BuiltInParameter.DIM_STYLE_LINEAR_UNITS
is_default = []
for dim in dim_styles:
	format_ops = dim.GetUnitsFormatOptions()
	if format_ops.UseDefault:
		is_default.append(True)
	else:
		is_default.append(False)

OUT = zip(dim_styles, is_default)

This gets all dimension styles (DimensionType objects) in the current document and returns the DimensionType and whether or not is uses default formatting (boolean).

1 Like

Rethinking what I want to do here (which is probably different from the OP).

Instead of determining which styles are different from the project settings, what I really want to know is which displayed dimension strings are different from the actual dimensional values.

Luckily, @john_pierson has us hooked up in Rhythm for exactly this sort of thing! Thanks John!

1 Like