Genetics algorithm

Hello,
I am trying to calculate the best rotation of the tower that has better views. To every floor plan I draw a line that intersect with the next building. the length of the line views change if we rotate the tower more or less.
To determine the fittest rotation we need to try many rotations and then get the rotation that gives us the longest line view sum.
I tried Optimo but I am not happy about. I am trying now with a simple code, but unfortunately I have no experience with programming and I can not solve it. Maybe someone with better knowledge in Code blocks could help me out. :slight_smile:
So far i defined a definition that creates random values for the rotation values, and I need now another definition that take the sum values of the “viewlines” and get the longest and related it to the value of the rotation. With an amount of iterations we will be close to the fittest rotation :).Turm_genetics algorithms.dyn (46.1 KB)

1 Like

You may want to try using project fractal for this exercise instead of trying to look at all rotations yourself and looking at the ‘best viewing distance’ as the best viewing distance may not be the best tower (best view but worst form or too much unusable space). It will also likely be much faster to run as it uses the cloud rather than your CPU (you’re doing something like 4010**4360 tests here, if not more).

https://home.fractal.live

1 Like

Thanks Jacob, I already contacted the Fractal group, but the fact it is that I want to learn to code myself. Yes, the best rotation might not be the one that offers better usable spaces, but if I learn to code, I will add this variable, and many others too. Anyhow, I am giving a try to Fractal, cause it looks really cool! :slight_smile:

That’s a hell of a challenge if you’ve never done any programming! You might want to try something a little less complicated for now. You’re asking for some pretty heavy computational lifting.