Generating 3DpolyLine from Pipe network using Dynamo

Dears all,
I hope you all doing very well and safe in this difficult time that we passing through! I am totally new to dynamo for Civil 3D. Now I started to educate myself a bit about how to use Dynamo for Civil 3d. can anyone help me with the following subject! I am looking to use Dynamo to generate a 3dpoly line from the invert elevation of the Pipe network in civil 3D any tips for that! Is there any script for such workflow!?
thank you for your attention and your help
Kindly regards
Salwan Abbosh

It can be tricky handling the jumps in the structures if you want a continuous polyline but this should get you in the right direction, it’s using the Civil 3D Toolkit package.

PipeNetwork_InvertToPolylines.dyn (81.4 KB)

3 Likes

Hi Paolo,
First thank you so much for your rapid answer and solution! I will experiment with your attached file to check how this will works with me! I believe you mean with the Jumps! If the structure will contains multiple in-out going inverts on different elevation!? Correct! ? If I want to run this script! I have to use (I believe) C3D2020? correct! I can’t use it with a normal Dynamo!
Again thank you so much for your help

It runs only in Dynamo for Civil 3D, it needs a package called Civil 3D Toolkit that you can find in the package manager.

Did anyone get to fix the jumps in the structures. I need a continuous polyline. :frowning:

There is nothing to be fixed. You cannot have a continuous polyline if the structure branches into multiple pipes.

1 Like

So I have downloaded and used this script but every time I select the 3d polylines then try and view them in object viewer civil 3d fatal errors. Anyone else running into this issue?