File path of central file

Is there a node that is able to retrieve the file path of the central file when running dynamo in a local user file? I can’t seem to find one.

Edit: I’m really new to Python but my script doesn’t seem to work. How do I use the Revit API properly in this case? ( http://revitapisearch.com/html/7b646d50-585e-1c52-54f5-5b2eddc546a9.htm ) How should I use the get argument?

@Holthuis,

First of all please post code not an image of code. This forum supports code formatting very well.

Here’s how:

To get the basic file info you actually have to extract it from a file. There is a static method for that where you feed the file path of the document that you need the info about. In this case its your current open document since you are in Dynamo. To do that just call doc.PathName and then you are good to go.

you were also missing references to things like Revit API and Revit Services which are wrapper classes for Document object for working with Revit docuements in Dynamo.

Here’s a full code:

# Import RevitAPI
import clr
clr.AddReference("RevitAPI")
import Autodesk
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *

# Import DocumentManager and TransactionManager
clr.AddReference("RevitServices")
import RevitServices
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument

#The inputs to this node will be stored as a list in the IN variables.
dataEnteringNode = IN

#Assign your output to the OUT variable.
OUT = BasicFileInfo.Extract(doc.PathName).CentralPath
8 Likes

This also seems to work…

# Import RevitAPI
import clr
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
import Autodesk
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import ModelPathUtils

# Import DocumentManager
clr.AddReference('RevitServices')
import RevitServices
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager

doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument
cen = doc.GetWorksharingCentralModelPath()

OUT = ModelPathUtils.ConvertModelPathToUserVisiblePath(cen)