Families contained within volume

I’m trying to create a script that allows me to get a parameter value from a generic model, and push that value to all the families that are contained by this same generic model.
Allow me to explain a little bit more:
I’d like to be able to create several Generic Models that represent certain zones (installation areas) in a building, and then get a parameter value of that Generic Model and push it back to all the families (Ducts, Duct Accessories, Pipes, …) who can be found within that Generic Model. This will allow me to create schedules for each installation area without me having to select everything manually…
I’m a complete newbie when it comes to Dynamo, I know what I want the thing to do, but just can’t get it to do what I want.
I can get it to work for Ducts and Pipes (that’s easy because there’s only 1 solid for each pipe or duct), but Duct Fittings, Duct Accessories, Pipe Fittings etc are all more complex geometries with multiple solids in each family, and that’s when it all goes wrong…
I’ve been trying to do this without any extra packages as well.
Help would really be appreciated :slight_smile:

Welcome to the forum!

Do the families have to be completed contained by the zone? What if they’re only partially contained or split between two zones?

The easiest thing to do is get the family locations (points) and check those against the zone. As you’ve found out, checking against multiple geometries for a single family is more work, however still possible. If families need to be fully contained by the zone then you will have to check every solid. That can be done by utilizing list levels so that every part is checked individually and then the family as a whole checked for no failing parts.

Try making some of the changes I’ve suggested and then post an image of your graph (with node preview bubbles pinned) so we can see where you’re at.

Hi Nick, thanks for the welcome :slight_smile: