Export information to excel from specific families

Hello all,

I have been spinning my wheels for a while now and I need some help maybe getting pointed in the right direction. I am an MEP engineer and most of the how-to’s and tutorials are set up by and for architectural elements. Usually we can find a work around to get to the same results but this work flow has me stumped.

I have been asked to generate a dynamo script that takes all of the VAV terminal units in a project and exports there parameter values to excel, so that we might override the values and import the new values into the individual instances of the families. Unfortunately, the terminal unit family lives under the mechanical equipment element type and I am having trouble filtering the elements list down to just VAV units (getting rid of air handling units, plumbing equipment, exhaust fans, etc).

Can someone help me find a thread that already answers this type of dynamo script?

If this bridge has not been crossed yet, how might we filter a list of elements to a specific family?

Thank you in advance,
Zack

Zack,

First question: do you have multiple VAV families within the project? (My recollection is that it’s usually one manufacturer family for a particular coil type [HW/Elec] up to a certain size where rectangular inlet connections are needed, then you pull in the ‘large’ family as well)

If it’s just one family, you can retrieve the family names of your mechanical equipment and filter by that name.

If it’s multiple families with a common naming system, you can attempt the same thing as the one family case but filter by the most common point of the name (hopefully it’s VAV or something intuitively unique to just your VAV families).