Equipment Tags correlation to Sheet Number

Hello All,

Disclaimer: Complete Dynamo Novice here:

I work for a consulting Engineer Firm and I am hoping to utilize Dynamo to correlate each instance of an Equipment Tag (both Multi-Category and Generic Annotation) with which sheets (Sheet Number) they reside on.

For example, there may be a pump (using the Mark parameter) that shows up on a mechanical plan drawing, an electrical power plan, and a HVAC plan drawing. I would like to have a schedule of each tag and which drawings it shows up on. I know Revit isn’t really built this way and it is more based on which view is on a particular sheet, but we use this information as part of our QAQC process.

Please let me know if additional information is need,

A few quick questions:

• Are you scheduling in Revit or in Excel?
  • Would you have a new line for each tag on each sheet or would you schedule each tag once with all the sheets it shows up on?

I would recommend scheduling in Excel because it gives you more freedom in what and how you schedule things.

Thanks for the questions Nick,

Are you scheduling in Revit or in Excel?
Ideally this data is exported into Excel as you recommended.

Would you have a new line for each tag on each sheet or would you schedule each tag once with all the sheets it shows up on?

Yes, each tag would be a new row in the export. We have our on web based software that we populate with equipment data, which is kept in a database. We would then take this export and compare the two data sets as part of our QAQC process.

At the minimum each equipment tag row would have the Tag #, and the corresponding drawing number(s) that each tag resides on. If you could take it step further, it would be nice to have a column for drawing numbers for each discipline (Process, Mechanical, Electrical, etc), but this may be tricky if each discipline has it’s own model (our current workflow).

Does this answer your questions?