Dynamo to automatically choose the correct hatch pattern in a Title block on

Hi.

I am new to Dynamo and I want to use it to solve a specific problem I have. As the topic title says I want Dynamo to automatically choose the correct hatch pattern in a Title block on a specific sheet.

I have the following set-up in Revit regarding sheets and title blocks.

• Three different title block families with a lot of hatch patterns but each one have a unique name.
  • A bunch of sheets (>1000) with specific sheet numbers. The sheets are organized by level and building zone. Example of sheet number XXX-XX---1-D01100523 (level 100, zone 523)
I want Dynamo to look through the sheets and read a specific part of the sheet number (the last 6 characters - 100523) and automatically choose the correct hatch pattern in the title block family, which in the case above is a hatch pattern called D-523 in the title block. D-523 is not a shared parameter in the title block family.

Information about hatch patterns in title block family. Family Types:
Parameter Type: Family parameter.
Parameter Data:
Instance Name: D-523
Discipline: Common
Type of Parameter:Yes/No
Group parameter under: Other

My first question is if this is possible?

If the answer is yes. How?

I would be very grateful for any input regarding this and please keep in mind that my level of expertise in Dynamo is non existent. :slight_smile:

Kind regards

Lukas Nowikowski

Short answer yes it’s possible. First, are the filled regions are controlled with family types within the title block? (The drop downs)

Lukas,

My advice generally is to demonstrate a certain level of investigation when requesting assistance on the public forum. Why? It shows people that you have done some prior work, looked at the issue in close and simply got stuck. It is generally not advised to just ask for someone to do your work for you.