Dynamo - Push room name data to ceiling components

Hi Guys,

I am a relative novice to Dynamo and new to the forum. I have found a graph by which pushes space data to Revit MEP components located above a ceiling for COBie data.

I am trying to create a similar version which can push room data to the ceiling components but cant quite fathom how to get the graph to work. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Ceilings_COBie_FindCeilingRoomByUpperLimit

2 Likes

Hi

Using a few nodes to create a centerpoint for the ceiling, and lowering it down to make sure it’s inside the room boundaries, use the “RIE.point.SpaceAndRoom” from the RIE package to find its residing room.
For other elements you can also try the “RIE.element.SpaceAndRoom” node and see if you get the correct results. This node depends on the element being a pointbased family, which the ceiling is not.

Try out the “dyn” file attached, and see if it helps. Just change the “Select model elements” with the desired ceiling elements you want the room information for.

elements roomlocation in parameter.dyn (14.9 KB)

1 Like

FamilyInstance.Room node will also make short work of this. I believe it’s in either the Rhythm or clockwork package, though I can’t recall exactly which.

Hi Andre / Jacob,

Thank you for your help on this. When running the script provided by Andre I came across no issues using a very simple test model, however when i run the script on the project model i encounter a null value at the GetParameterByName node. Would the script require a replaceNulls / IgnoreNulls type node to clean the list?

Dave R

It’s in Rhythm. :slightly_smiling_face: Downside here is, it does not work for system families like ceilings. It works with loadable families like casework or furniture.

John,

I tried the Rhythm FamilyInstance.Room node but couldn’t get it to work for the ceilings as you have noted

Dave

Yeah. That method is only available for Family Instances.